NinjaTrader hangs and crashes

After installing NinjaTrader on my secondary machine, which isn’t as beefy as my primary machine, the first optimization run hung, and the second two attempts both silently crashed (i.e. NinjaTrader just disappeared). I had the task manager up for all three runs and it didn’t even break 300MB of memory usage, so excessive memory use doesn’t appear to be the problem, as it was on my primary machine when the trace/log files got to bloated. On my primary machine I had to uninstall it and reinstall it to get the strategy drop down populating again in the backtesting optimization configuration dialog (repair didn’t work).

So that means I can only run it on my primary machine. If it builds up giant log/trace files again and starts using up 800MB of RAM just to startup again, then it’ll will again be necessary to purge these files, but its unclear if this can be done without doing a full uninstall and reinstall.

Anyway, I’ve started looking at other options even while I continue to run it on my primary machine, and I’ll switch over to something else as soon as I find it or write it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to NinjaTrader hangs and crashes

  1. Pingback: 4 automated trading development platforms for beginners to advanced « Trader Pau

  2. Pingback: 4 automated trading development platforms for beginner to advanced traders « Trader Pau

  3. Pingback: 4 automated trading development platforms for beginner to advanced traders | Quantisan.com

Have something to say?